Italy

 

  • Nebbiolo
  • Sangiovese
  • Pinot Noir
  • Chardonnay
  • Riesling
  • Sauvignon Blanc
  • Nerello Mascalese
  • Cabernet Franc
  • Rondinella
  • Syrah
  • Corvina
  • Garganega
  • Pinot Grigio
  • Pinot Gris
  • Barbera
  • Ribolla Gialla
  • Dolcetto
  • Fumin
  • Friulano
  • Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Merlot
  • Moscato Bianco
  • Nerello Cappuccio

 

0

The Wine Empire

So, everyone sort of knows what Italy is. Tuscany means hills, Rome means the Eternal City, Vesuvius means Pompeii. But modern Italy consists of a great many patches of land, the inhabits of which spent thousands of years sorting things out between themselves. Each region has a rich history. And the Italian wines reflect the character and virtues of each of the land’s regions perfectly.

Italy Rome Basilica St Peter Italy Rome Trevi

Here we have the traces of the mysterious Etruscans, whose origin still sparks a heady debate among the historians. Their rich heritage in Tuscany includes the winemaking history, which extends back over three thousand years. Some Chianti households are even built on the foundation of the Etruscan houses.

Or the Veneto region which takes its name from one of the first Slavic tribes in the history – and it’s not just the city on a dozens islands which makes it famous. The soils we now know as Valpolicella, Bardolino and Soave have been cultivated for centuries here.

Italy Venece Italy Florence More

Whereas the Sicily is simply the crossroads of cultures. Over the course of history it has been owned the the Greeks, Carthaginians, Romans, Byzantines, Arabs, Norsemen. Some of them got the idea to plough up everything in their way, including the slopes of Etna. The first vine was probably brought here by Greeks during their colonisation phase. That’s how the history of Sicilian winemaking began. Time passed, the owners of this hearty island changed, but nobody failed to be moved by wine.

To the north lies Piedmont the kings of which finally united Italy under their rule in XIX. In our day, Piedmont still carries that luxurious bourgeois charm that has long been fuelled by the Nebbiolo’s juices – a whimsical grape variety which refuses to grow in any other place on Earth.

The history of wine in Italy is not without its complications either. For a long time, Italian wine was not a source of particular excitement among the connoisseurs. The cinemaphiles will easily remember the bellied fiascos with cheap Chianti that replicated the curves of Sophia Loren’s thighs from the black-and-white movies. In those films the moustachioed peasants used the giant bottles in the stools’ stead. Nowadays, a novice, upon coming to the famous land of wine, may just shrug his shoulders in disappointment in the metropolitan restaurants: is that the wine the guides gush about?..

The first wave of Italian Wine Renaissance in the twentieth century concurred with the sixties when the French classification was used as a basis for an attempt to sort out the descriptions and categories of Italian wines. Later, in the eighties and nineties a new stage commenced: the true winemakers, working independently of each other in different corners of the land, began improving the quality of their wines by turning to the traditional winemaking, furthering the cultivation of the local grape varieties and adapting the French ones.

These ideas were probably just hanging thick in the air. But it’s because of them that we can nowadays drink the Sangiovese, as lovely as the setting sun, the honest Brunello, the traditional Barolo and the hot Nerello Mascalese.

Wines

Articles

A Different View
0

A Different View

Doesn’t your fight resemble tilting at windmills? The question is what we consider a victory. If everyone wakes up tomorrow and starts drinking true wine, it’d be a tragedy for us. There’s not enough true wine for everyone – there’s very little of it, to be honest.

Videos

0 Comments

 

    Submit a Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <b> <em> <i> <strong>

Италия

 

  • Санджовезе
  • Пино Нуар
  • Неббиоло
  • Шардонне
  • Рислинг
  • Совиньон Блан
  • Нерелло Маскалезе
  • Сира
  • Каберне Фран
  • Рондинелла
  • Корвина
  • Пино Гриджо
  • Барбера
  • Пино Гри
  • Гарганега
  • Дольчетто
  • Риболла Джалла
  • Каберне Совиньон
  • Фриулано
  • Фумин
  • Нерелло Капуччо
  • Москато Бьянко
  • Мерло

 

0

Империя вина

Что такое Италия, вроде бы известно всем. Если Тоскана – то холмы, если Рим – то Вечный Город, если Везувий – то Помпеи. Но современная Италия собрана из множества разнообразных лоскутов земли, жители которых на протяжении тысячелетий выясняли отношения между собой, и каждый регион имел свою насыщенную историю. Итальянские вина как нельзя ярче отражают характер и свойства регионов страны.

Italy Rome Basilica St Peter Italy Rome Trevi

Есть тут следы загадочных этрусков, о происхождении которых до сих пор спорят ученые. Их богатое наследие в Тоскане включает в себя и историю виноделия, которому более трех тысяч лет. Некоторые хозяйства в регионе Кьянти даже построены на фундаментах этрусских домов.

Регион Венето, название которого, как ни странно, произошло от одного из первых в истории славянских народов, знаменит не только свой столицей на островах в лагуне. Тут веками возделывали земли, которые ныне знакомы нам как Вальполичелла, Бардолино и Соаве.

Italy Venece Italy Florence More

А, например, Сицилия – просто перекресток культур. В разное время ей владели греки, карфагеняне, римляне, византийцы, арабы, норманны. Кому-то из них пришло в голову распахивать все подряд, в том числе и склоны Этны. А первая лоза была, вероятно, завезена сюда еще греками в эпоху Великой колонизаци. Так и началась история сицилийского виноделия. Время шло, менялись хозяева этого плодородного острова, но никто не оставался равнодушен к вину.

На севере лежит Пьемонт, короли которого в XIX веке наконец объединили под свой властью всю Италию. И сейчас Пьемонт хранит то самое роскошное буржуазное обаяние, которое веками подпитывалось соками винограда Неббиоло, капризного сорта, категорически отказывающего вызревать в каком-либо другом месте на Земле.

В винной истории Италии все тоже было непросто. Обычно итальянское вино не вызывало особых восторгов у ценителей. Оплетённые лыком пузатые бутылки дешевого Кьянти, повторяющие изгибы бедер Софи Лорен, хорошо помнятся киноманам по черно-белому кино. В этих фильмах усатые крестьяне использовали в сценах из сельской жизни огромные бутыли вместо табуретов. А в наше время неофит, приезжающий в знаменитую винную страну, порой разочарованно пожимает плечами в столичных ресторанах: неужели об этом вине пишут в путеводителях?..

Первая волна итальянского вино-возрождения в 20 веке пришлась на 60-е годы, когда на основе французской классификации были предприняты попытки упорядочить описание и категории итальянских вин. А в 80-90-х годах прошлого века взял разгон новый этап: независимо друг от друга настоящие виноделы в разных уголках страны принялись за качественное улучшение своих вин, обратились к традиционному виноделию и озадачились тем, чтобы развивать культивацию местных сортов винограда и адаптировать французские.

Вероятно, эти идеи просто витали в воздухе. Но благодаря этому сегодня мы можем пить прекрасное до слёз санджовезе, честное брунелло, традиционное бароло и горячее нерелло москалезе.

Вина

Статьи

Особое мнение
0

Особое мнение

А не похожа ли ваша борьба на бой с ветряными мельницами? Вопрос в том, что считать победой. Если завтра все проснутся и начнут пить настоящее вино, то для нас это обернется трагедией. Настоящего вина на всех просто не хватит — его очень мало на самом деле.

Ролики

0 Комментариев

 

    Оставить комментарий

    Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <b> <em> <i> <strong>